The cost of care, in context
What does daycare cost in Merrimack County?
See county-level prices by age and care setting, then put together a budget for your family.
Your county’s childcare prices
Merrimack County, New Hampshire
- Infant · center (0–23 months)
- $354per week · CPI-adjusted estimate2022 official data: $287 / week$353 / week · New Hampshire typical county
10 counties with data
About the same as the state median$214 / week · U.S. typical county
2,661 counties with data
Higher than the national median - Toddler · center (24–35 months)
- $336per week · CPI-adjusted estimate2022 official data: $272 / week$335 / week · New Hampshire typical county
10 counties with data
About the same as the state median$189 / week · U.S. typical county
2,663 counties with data
Higher than the national median - Preschool · center (36–54 months)
- $294per week · CPI-adjusted estimate2022 official data: $239 / week$294 / week · New Hampshire typical county
10 counties with data
About the same as the state median$178 / week · U.S. typical county
2,670 counties with data
Higher than the national median - Infant · home-based (0–23 months)
- $244per week · CPI-adjusted estimate2022 official data: $198 / week$243 / week · New Hampshire typical county
10 counties with data
About the same as the state median$177 / week · U.S. typical county
2,584 counties with data
Higher than the national median
Compare local prices with a typical county, then ask providers for current quotes.
Prices by age and care setting
| Age & setting | 2022 weekly | 2022 annual equivalent | September 2026 weekly estimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infant · center 0–23 months | $287 | $14,926 | $354 |
| Toddler · center 24–35 months | $272 | $14,155 | $336 |
| Preschool · center 36–54 months | $239 | $12,409 | $294 |
| School-age · center School-year arrangement | $213 | Not annualized | $263 |
| Infant · home-based 0–23 months | $198 | $10,275 | $244 |
| Toddler · home-based 24–35 months | $184 | $9,565 | $227 |
| Preschool · home-based 36–54 months | $184 | $9,565 | $227 |
| School-age · home-based School-year arrangement | Not reported | Not annualized | Not reported |
What this means
Use the right age and setting.
Full-day infant care and school-age arrangements are different services. Compare like with like, and ask each provider what their price includes.
The 2022 values are DOL’s county-level estimates, which may use shared survey areas, standardization or imputation. The September 2026 column applies national childcare inflation to those values. It does not measure current local prices.
Plan a childcare budget
Historical infant-center prices
Sources & data dates
- Prices
- DOL Women’s Bureau NDCP, study year 2022. County estimates from state market-rate surveys; some values are standardized or imputed.
- Inflation
- BLS day care and preschool CPI-U (not seasonally adjusted), September 2026. These are adjusted estimates, not new local observations.
- Income & population
- Census ACS fields distributed in the DOL workbook’s 2022 rows: MFI (family income, DP03) and TOTALPOP (DP05). Income share uses 2022 prices only.
- Retrieved
- 2026-11-03 (DOL); 2026-11-03 (BLS)
- Method
- Units, typical-county benchmarks, ZIP matching and limitations
